Dad’s Birthday Cake

IMG_4909

Ever since I can remember birthday’s in the Woo household were always celebrated with a fresh cream fruit salad cake from the Sicilian Pastry Shop in Leith. The sponges in their cake are light but voluminous and the whipped cream again are light and sweet which unfortunately for someone like me you can just keep eating and eating until there’s no more. If you live in Edinburgh and have never been to this bakery – go. They do lots of lovely things from biscuits to savoury Italian sandwiches. It’s a small takeaway shop but it’s got a nice family run feel to it…just imagine yourself in Sicily and not in Leith.

However, more recently I have been baking for said birthday celebrations and the latest was for my dad’s 79th as seen on my last post. I thought I’d carry on the theme of a fresh cream cake with summer berries and I wanted a light sponge so I searched online for a Genoise sponge recipe. I found one and followed the instructions step by step but the sponges turned out too thin (first time making Genoise). I deduced a few possibilities to the reasons why – 1) my cake tins were too big, 2) I folded in the butter too quick, or 3) I folded the mixture too much breaking all the air that the sponge required to help it rise. I didn’t have enough time to make more so as well as using the thin sponges in this cake I had also made some plain Victoria sponges to give it more height.

If something like this goes wrong I would revert to making Victoria sponges as it’s quick and requires minimal effort.

So I’m not going to tell you how to make a Genoise cake – instead I’ll give you a simple recipe to make the cream filling to adorn your lovely sponges with.

INGREDIENTS

  • 300ml of double cream
  • 100g strawberries
  • 1 tbsp icing sugar

METHOD

  1. Whisk the cream (by hand or with an electric whisk) until just stiff and holds its shape when lifted.
  2. Add the icing sugar to the strawberries and blitz together using a blender. Add more sugar if you want it sweeter.
  3. Pour the strawberry mix into the cream and give it a few stir just enough to get a nice pink swirling effect . If you want all your cream to be pink then you can be a bit more thorough with the stirring.
  4. And that’s it. Depending on the size of your sponge you may need more cream but it’s simple to make so don’t panic if you run out mid-decorating your cake.
  5. You can layer each layer of your sponges with cream and fresh fruit as I have done in this one. Slice up some seasonal berries and make your cake look pretty and delicious.

IMG_4920

By the way if you watch Great British Bake Off or Masterchef and you hear contestants making Chantilly cream and think it’s fancy? Well it’s not, it’s basically whipped cream with icing sugar which you’ve pretty much made if you’ve used the above recipe. Yaaaay!

 

19029403_10158786061805721_683525394679307716_n

Me and my little niece Carina posing with the cake

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

